With regard to the supreme court judgement and guidelines of 1997 to implement the effective enforcement of the basic human rights and gender equality and to guarantee against sexual abuse and harassment, and on the basis of UGC circulars to all universities to establish a permanent cell and a committee and to combat sexual harassment and violence against women, the BCM college has constituted an anti sexual harassment cell according to the guidelines of UGC, state higher education department and affiliating university. BCM College is committed to ensure a congenital and conducive atmosphere in which students, teachers and non-teaching staff can work together in a pleasant atmosphere free of violence, sexual harassment and discrimination on the basis of gender

Every year after the completion of the admissions, the committee is reconstituted adding new student representatives.

The committee ensures that the college premises and the hostel attached to the college are free of any sort of sexual harassment.

The anti sexual harassment cell operates in various dimensions

1. The cell takes initiative to spread awareness among the college community regarding a gentle and decent behavior towards all its members.

Morals and values in this regard is being inculcated through tutorials hours, mentoring sessions and other orientation programmes.

The college website and calendar deliver the policy of the college in this regard.

- 2. The cell acts as a grievance receiving and redressal mechanism. Any grievance in this regard is taken up immediately for perusal and resolved following the rules and regulations. Necessary disciplinary actions are taken based on the report of the committee constituted. Serious offenses if any found are supposed to be informed to the police authorities.
- 3. Counseling and other rehabilitative assistance is extended to victims if any such incidents occur. Medical care is also made available in the nearby district general hospital at the earliest in necessary cases.

The composition of the committee is as follows

Composition of the Anti – Sexual Harassment Committee.

- (a) A Presiding Officer who shall be a woman faculty member employed at a senior level at the educational institution;
- (b) Not less than two teaching employees and two non-teaching employees, preferably committed to the cause of women or who have had experience in social work or have legal knowledge;
- (c) Not less than three students, who shall be enrolled at the undergraduate, masters, and research scholar levels respectively.

(d) One member from amongst non-governmental organizations or associations committed to the cause of women or a person familiar with the issues relating to sexual harassment. Provided that at least one-half of the total Members so nominated shall be women.

The committee constituted adhering to the above norms in the college includes the following

- 1. Principal
- 2. Vice Principal
- 3. Two senior faculties.

Steps to be followed by the committee.

The anti-sexual harassment Committee is convened immediately after a Complaint is received. The Committee after the primary deliberations may ask the complainant to prepare and submit a detailed statement of incidents if the written complaint needs more clarification.

The members of the committee shall summon the accused person and a detailed response to the complaint is asked.

After going through the reply filed thus, a hearing is conducted for both the parties to collect further information.

The Committee asks both parties to produce relevant documents and witnesses to support their case. Documents produced by either party shall be affixed with that party's signature to certify the document as original / true copy.

All the procedures will be completed within 10 days of time.

The report of the committee with recommendations will be submitted to the principal for further actions.

Principal takes necessary actions on the basis of the committee either by internal warning or disciplinary actions or transfer the petition and report to competent police authority in case of serious findings.

The members of The Anti sexual harassment cell during the academic year 2015-16 are as follows:

Prof. Sheela Stephen, Principal(Convenor)

### Members:

Dr Sr Betsy, Head, department of family and community science. Dr. Reeja P S. Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology Dr Ipe Varghese, Head, Department of Social Work

The members of The Anti sexual harassment cell during the academic year 2016-17 are as follows:

Prof. Sheela Stephen, Principal(Convenor)

Members:

Dr. Reeja P S. Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology Dr. Selinama Joseph, Department of Botany Dr. Ajis Ben Mathews, Department of History Ms. Shoshamma Mathew

The members of The Anti sexual harassment cell during the academic year 2017-2018 are as follows:

Dr.Sr.Betsy, Principal(Convenor)

Members:

Dr. George Mathew, Department of Mathematics Ms. Shoshamma Mathew Department of Mathematics Ms. Smitha Joseph, Department of Physics

Dr. Ajis Ben Mathew, Department of History

	The members of The Anti sexual harassment cell during the academic year 2018-2019 are a	as
follows:		

Ms. Josephina Simon, Principal (Convenor)

Members:

Dr. Stephy Thomas, Vice Principal
Dr. Annu Thomas, Vice Principal
Ms. Priya Thomas, Department of Zoology
Ms. Alphonsa Kurian, Department of Sociology

The members of The Anti sexual harassment cell during the academic year 2019-2020 are as follows:

Dr. Teena Annah Thomas, Principal (Convenor)

Members:

Dr. Stephy Thomas, Vice Principal Dr. Annu Thomas, Vice Principal Ms. Ponnu Liz Maliekal, Department of English Ms. Suman Abraham, Department of English

The members of The Anti sexual harassment cell during the academic year 2020-2021 are as follows:

Dr. Teena Annah Thomas, Principal (Convenor)

Members:

Dr. Stephy Thomas, Vice Principal Dr. Annu Thomas, Vice Principal

Dr. Elizabeth V John (Department of Physics)

Ms. Neethu Varghese (Department of English)